SLPP Dissidents and SLFP Form Alliance to Back Ranil Wickremesinghe

In a recent development, a group of dissident SLPP MPs has formed a new alliance with the SLFP to support President Ranil Wickremesinghe. The newly-formed political outfit, known as the New Alliance-SLFP, made this announcement at a public meeting in Ambalantota.

The alliance consists of several ministers from the pro-Ranil group, including Education Minister Susil Premjayantha, Ports and Aviation Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, Acting SLFP General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake, Agriculture Minister Mahindananda Amaraweera, Trade Minister Nalin Bandara, State Minister Chamara Sampath Dasanayake, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, and Nimal Lanza.

During the meeting, the speakers criticized the Rajapaksas and former SLFP leader Maithripala Sirisena. Minister Amaraweera mentioned that Sirisena’s failure led them to form this alliance, while Minister Premjayantha warned against wrong policies that could lead to unfavorable consequences.

The group aims to operate both inside and outside Parliament independently. MP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa revealed that the group comprises about 30 MPs and their decision to support President Wickremesinghe was unanimous.

This move comes after the SLPP lost nearly 25 MPs following the election of UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe as President. The formation of the New Alliance-SLFP marks a significant setback for the SLPP, which has been losing support from several MPs over the past two years.