Modi Sworn in for Third Term as PM: Key Ministers Take Oath

President Draupadi Murmu administers the oath of office to Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Sunday. The historic event saw several key ministers, including Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, and Nitin Gadkari, taking oath alongside Mr. Modi for his third consecutive term as Prime Minister. The ceremony was attended by leaders of seven countries from South Asia and the Indian Ocean region, highlighting India’s commitment to its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy.

In a significant move, Mr. Modi rewarded the BJP’s coalition partners by inducting several MPs from the NDA partners into his Cabinet. Two MPs each from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the BJP in Andhra Pradesh were among those who took oath. Leaders like TDP’s Ram Mohan Naidu, JD(S)‘s H.D. Kumaraswamy, and BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal were also sworn in as Cabinet Ministers.

The NDA, with 286 seats in this election, saw the BJP winning 240 seats, falling short of the majority mark of 272. Despite this, the ceremony was attended by leaders from neighboring countries, emphasizing India’s commitment to regional cooperation.

In a show of inclusivity, the ceremony also saw members of the transgender community being invited to bless the new government. This gesture highlighted the government’s focus on diversity and inclusivity.

Overall, the swearing-in ceremony was a momentous occasion, marking the beginning of a new term for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his team of key ministers. With a mix of experienced leaders and fresh faces, the new Cabinet is poised to lead the country into a new era of governance and development.