Ocean Racing News Roundup

First autonomous flights for Orient Express Racing Team

After completing a series of tests, the French sailors aboard the AC75 Orient Express Racing Team experienced their first flight on June 6. The team includes pilots Quentin Delapierre and Kevin Peponnet, trimmers Matthieu Vandame and Jason Saunders, and cycling sailors Olivier Herlédant, François Pervis, Rémi Verhoeven, and Germain Chardin.

Maxi Banque Populaire sets sail for the Relais des Océans

On June 7, the Olympic Flame began its journey from Brest to the French West Indies aboard the Maxi Banque Populaire XI. The crew, led by Armel le Cléac’h and Sébastien Josse, will be joined by celebrities like Marie-José Pérec, Marine Lorphelin, Alexis Michalik, and Hugo Roellinger.

Acrobatica wins Atlantic Cup

Acrobatica claimed victory in the Atlantic Cup after a close race from Newport to Portland. Skippered by Alberto Riva and Jean Marre, the team crossed the finish line first, followed closely by Vogue Avec Un Crohn and Everial.

New York Vendée, a unique race experience

The sailors in the New York Vendée Les Sables d’Olonnes race faced unexpected challenges as they navigated the transatlantic course. Charlie Dalin leads the fleet, with Boris Herrmann taking a unique strategy. Sam Goodchild’s retirement on Vulnerable added to the drama of the race.

Transquadra introduces new cruiser classification

The Transquadra race for amateur sailors over 40 has introduced a new “cruiser” classification for racing yachts. The race will kick off in Marseille and La Turballe, with sailors heading to Madeira and Martinique.

Sydney hosts Globe40 2025/2026 and Global Solo Challenge 2027-2028

Sydney will be a key stop in the Globe40 2025/2026 race and the starting point for the Global Solo Challenge 2027-2028. The Actual Group has joined Jean Le Cam’s Vendée Globe project, while the French team secures second place in the Canada Sail Grand Prix.

ENGIE Kite Tour 2024 concludes in Fréjus

Lauriane Nolot emerged victorious in the ENGIE Kite Tour Fréjus leg, winning the Kitefoil category. Other winners included Paul Labordère, Giovanni Sambuy, Aude Ournac, Alex Caizergues, Tom Pansard, and Orane Ceris in various kite racing disciplines.