The Chilean Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) took the lead in the general motorcycle classification in the Dakar 2024 after winning the fourth stage of the test this Tuesday, on a day in which the Frenchman Sebastien Loeb (Prodrive) achieved his first victory in this edition in the car category.

Cornejo surpassed his American teammate Ricky Brabec (Honda) at the finish line in 2 minutes and 59 seconds and the Argentine Kevin Benavides (KTM), current champion of the event and winner of Monday’s stage, in 3 minutes and 18 seconds.

Cornejo thus adds his eighth partial victory since he debuted in this legendary event and his second in this edition.

Leader from the first stage, Botswana Ross Branch (Hero) finished fourth, 4 minutes and 26 seconds behind, and is now second overall, 1 minute and 15 seconds behind the Chilean.

In the car category and after a black Monday, in which he suffered three punctures and lost a lot of time, Loeb achieved his first victory in this edition and cut some time in the general classification, which is still led by the Saudi Yazeed Al- Rahji (Toyota).

The French motorsport legend, nine-time world rally champion, surpassed Al-Rahji at the finish line by 1 min and 08 s and rose to 6th place overall, 23 min and 50 s behind the Saudi driver.

The Spanish Carlos Sainz (Audi) remains second overall (4 minutes and 19 seconds behind the leader) after finishing the stage in fourth place, five minutes behind the winner.

This Wednesday the 5th stage will be held, with 645 km between Al-Hofuf and Shubaytah, in which participants will have to overcome the sand and dunes of the Empty Quarter desert.

It will be a stage with 118 km of special, with a long link of 527 km where average speeds will be reduced due to the presence of sand.

“Few will have arrived at the Shubaytah bivouac when the sun goes down,” the rally website states, announcing the danger of the route.

Stage 5 of the Dakar 2024 (Al Hofuf – Shubaytah), which takes place this Wednesday, January 10, can be followed in the special summary on television starting at 9:45 p.m. on Teledeporte and RTVE Play.