Victoria Pearls Claim 4th Kwibuka Title in Nail-Biting Victory Over Zimbabwe

Match Recap: Uganda vs Zimbabwe A

The final of the 10th Kwibuka Cricket Tournament saw the Victoria Pearls facing off against Zimbabwe in a thrilling, low-scoring match that came down to the wire.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat, the Victoria Pearls got off to a shaky start, losing early wickets and struggling to build momentum. Proscovia Alako and Rita Musamali tried to stabilize the innings, but Zimbabwe A’s bowlers proved to be a challenge, limiting Uganda to a total of 80/8 in their 20 overs.

In response, Zimbabwe A also found themselves in trouble early on, but a solid partnership between Captain Chiydeza Dhururu and Loryn Phiri gave them hope. However, the Victoria Pearls fought back with excellent bowling from Captain Janet Mbabazi and Consy Aweko, setting up a tense final over with Zimbabwe needing 8 runs to win.

With Lorna Anyait delivering a nerve-wracking final over, Zimbabwe fell short by just 2 runs, allowing Uganda to claim their second consecutive Kwibuka title. Proscovia Alako’s standout performances throughout the tournament, including the only century scored, played a crucial role in Uganda’s success.

In the end, the defending champions Rwanda finished third, with Nigeria, Kenya, Botswana, Malawi, and Cameroon following suit.

Denis, a key player in Uganda’s cricket scene, has represented the country in various international events and currently leads the Wanderers Cricket Club.